St. Mark’s wins NAQT Small School National

SMS_Small_SchoolCongratulations to St. Mark’s School of Texas, Coach Paul Mlakar, seniors John Crawford and Patrick Magee, junior Abdullah Akbar, and sophomore Connor Pierce for winning the Charter and Private School portion of the 2017 NAQT Small School National Championship held in Chicago this weekend. The team from Dallas went 13-0 on Saturday and Sunday defeating Miami Valley (Ohio) in both the winner’s bracket final and the overall final to take the championship. Two other Texas teams played in the contest. Parish Episcopal finished tied for 9th and Greenhill finished 22nd. Stats from the event are available at this link

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

St. Mark’s School of Texas wins Middle School State!

Congratulations to St. Mark’s for their 265-200 victory over St. John’s in the first game of an advantaged final to win the eighth TQBA Middle Grades Championship. The Lions finished the day 8-2. The four other teams in the finals top bracket all finished 5-4; they were ranked third through sixth by bonus conversion in the following order: Kinkaid, Beckendorff, T.H. Rogers, Greenhill. Kealing and Coppell West finished 7th and 8th overall respectively after finishing 7-3 for the day to top the lower finals bracket.

St. John’s won the Elementary division with a 150-65 victory over Kinkaid B in the final. Beckendorff B won the Open division, beating Rogers B 190-150.

Championship statisticsElementary statistics and Open statistics are available.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

2017 Quiz Bowl Summer Camp!

slide-uc-sunsetRegistration for the 2017 Texas Quiz Bowl Summer Camps at the University of Texas at Dallas has begun. Please visit this online form to register your student.

Students may register to attend one of two sessions Session A: July 9-15 or Session B: July 15-23. We suggest Session A for students currently in grades 4-8 and Session B for students currently in grades 9-11. Any student can attend either or both sessions.

Like past years, this year’s camp will feature a number of fun activities for students. In addition to learning about history, science, geography, and humanities, students will participate in sessions on learning strategies, lateral thinking, and study skills each day. Student registration fees include: lodging for six nights at UTD, 2 classes and 2 meals daily, study materials, a t-shirt, and activities from 9 a.m. through 9 p.m.

Full details on the 2017 Texas Quiz Bowl Summer Camps, include a list of available classes will be posted soon to

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

DCC, Taylor claim Texas Invitational VIII victories

Detroit Catholic Central was crowned the overall champion of Texas Invitational VIII, winning Saturday’s mACF Eisenhower Memorial Tournament mirror, then placing third in Sunday’s NAQT ICT D-II mirror. Katy Taylor won the second match of an advantaged final against Barrington to win Sunday’s tournament.

You can view our Live Tracker spreadsheet this weekend to view Saturday’s scores, Sunday’s preliminary scores, and Sunday’s playoff scores. Full EMT statistics from Saturday are already available. Full ICT D2 statistics (including consolation matches) are available and in an alternate form without placings.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Regarding the Tournament at St. Mark’s on February 25

Texas Quiz Bowl Alliance (TQBA) has taken the following actions in tandem with the sanctions imposed by National Academic Quiz Tournaments (NAQT) stemming from results at an event held at St. Mark’s School of Texas on February 25:

  • The program known as Windhaven Park is indefinitely suspended from competing in TQBA events.
  • Two students participating for the Windhaven Park E team have been permanently banned. The program’s coach has been banned indefinitely. No other Windhaven Park player was implicated.
  • Other students associated with the Windhaven Park program must apply for and be granted reinstatement before they can participate in another TQBA event.

These penalties result from performances at the February 25 event that have been judged both by TQBA and by the questions’ creators, NAQT, to be inconsistent with the players’ previous tournament records.

Posted in Announcements, High School | Leave a comment

Spring Tournament Schedules

Here is a quick list of our working spring 2017 tournament calendar. We will be adding event pages and registration links for these events shortly.

January 07 – Winter Rodeo @ Village [HS] Stats
February 11 – Eagle Meet @ St. Thomas [MS] Stats
February 18 – Jesuit Academic @ Strake Jesuit [HS] Stats
March 4 – Bluebonnet @ Taylor [HS] Stats
April 1 – Maverick Madness @ St. John’s Middle [MS] Stats

January 14 – Panther Pageant @ Parish [HS] Stats Pics
January 21 – Greenhill Games @ Greenhill [MS] Stats
March 4 – Dallas Jesuit Prep Bowl @ Dallas Jesuit [MS] Stats

San Antonio-area
January 28th – Cougar Clash [HS/MS] Stats
February 25th – Mustang Meet [HS] Stats

Joint Events
April 8-9 – Texas Invitational @ Strake Jesuit mACF Stats NAQT Stats
April 22 – Middle Grades Championships @ Seven Lakes Championship Elementary Open
May 6 – Varsity Championship @ Cinco Ranch

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

TQBA Fall Schedule

Texas Quiz Bowl Alliance’s Fall 2016 season is complete:

Complete events:
Sept. 24: Hornet Hullabaloo (stats)(pics) [HS/MS]
Oct. 1: Falcon Fest (stats)(pics) [MS/Nov]
Oct. 1: Viking Invasion (stats: MS Elem Nov)
Oct. 8: Kickoff Classic XII (stats)(pics) [HS]
Oct. 15: Sparkling City III (stats)(pics) [HS]
Oct. 22: Alamo City VI (stats)(pics) [HS]
Oct. 29: Rio Grande Valley Bowl (stats)(pics) [HS]
Oct. 29: Hawks’ Nest II (stats)(pics) [MS/Elem]
Nov. 5: Strake Jesuit Prep Bowl XLIII (stats: MS Elem Nov)(pics)
Nov. 12: Brahma Bowl @ MacArthur (stats)(pics) [HS/MS]
Nov. 19: Leopards’ Lair @ Lovejoy (stats) [HS]
Dec. 3: HoHoHo IX @Seven Lakes (stats: Varsity JV)(pics) [HS]
Dec. 10: HoHo @ Beckendorff (stats: MS Elementary)(pics)
Dec. 17: Harvard Fall Mirror @ St. Thomas (stats) [HS]

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Rogers wins a nail-biter against newcomer Quail Valley at HoHo


The victorious elementary squad from the Village school

Congratulations to T.H. Rogers (Houston ISD) for their last-question victory over newbie Quail Valley (Fort Bend ISD) in the middle school final of Holiday Hoedown this past Saturday at Beckendorff Junior High in Katy. An elementary team from the Village School defeated a group from Annunciation Orthodox in the final of the contest for students in grade 6 or lower. All students played challenging high-school level questions throughout the day. Stats for the Middle School Division and Elementary Division are available.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

St. John’s upends Taylor in HoHoHo final

Andy Huff had 95 points in a 325-305 final victory for St. John’s over Taylor at HoHoHo IX on Saturday at Seven Lakes.


St. Mark’s and LASA were the other semifinalists, while Memorial went unbeaten to win the junior varsity division. Full statistics are available from both the varsity and JV divisions; there is also a photo gallery from the event.

Carnegie and Seven Lakes were the new HSNCT qualifiers from this event.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

TQBA to host Winter Camp

Texas Quiz Bowl will be host a 2016 Winter Quiz Bowl Camp for students currently in grades 4 through 9. This day camp will be hosted at Strake Jesuit College Preparatory (8900 Bellaire Blvd, 77036) from Monday, December 26th through Friday, December 30th from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. daily. Each day students will attend sessions on geography, history, humanities, and science in addition to playing a lateral thinking game and practicing quiz bowl. For more information, please see the camp’s event page. Parents and students may email for more information and to register.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment